Anne Richards

Coordinator, Peace Studies Program
Professor of English and Interdisciplinary Studies

Contact Information

Office: English Building (EB 27), Room 171
Phone: 470-578-2038
Fax: 470-578-9057


Associate Professor

Teaching at Kennesaw State since 2004  

Education:  Ph.D., Iowa State University, Rhetoric and Professional Communication, M.A., Iowa State University, Teaching English as a Second Language, B.A., Grinnell College, Religious Studies  

Specializations:  Cultural Studies, Islam in America, Professional and Technical Writing, Rhetoric, Peace Studies, Immigration Studies, Digital Culture, Visual and Document Design

Typical Courses Taught: Technical Writing (WRIT 3140), Writing for Digital Environments (WRIT 3150); and Special Topics in Interdisciplinary Studies, e.g., Writing the Spiritual Memoir (ENGL 3230/PAX 3780) and Theories of Nonviolence (PAX 3600)

Publications: Historic Engagements with Occidental Cultures, Religions, Powers (edited with Iraj Omidvar), Palgrave 2014; Muslims and American Popular Culture (two volumes edited with Iraj Omidvar), Praeger 2014; Complex Worlds: Digital Culture, Rhetoric, and Professional Communication (edited with Adrienne Lamberti), Baywood Technical Communication Series 2010; Writing the Visual: A Practical Guide for Teachers of Composition and Communication (edited with Carol David), Parlor Press 2005

Other: With Adrienne Lamberti, Anne edits the series “Engineering Transformation: Conflict, Crisis, Adaptation” for John Wiley and Sons. Anne was a Fulbright teaching fellow with the University of Sfax, Tunisia from 2006–2007; a Fulbright ambassador from 2010–2013; and a Fulbright specialist with the University of Mindanao, Philippines in 2014. In 2013, she served as the local project scholar for a National Endowment for the Humanities project exploring Islam in America, a grant received by the KSU Sturgis Library and the KSU Museum of History and Holocaust Education.  




Ph.D., Iowa State University
B.A., Grinnell College
M.A., Iowa State University

Program Members

Brown-Spiers, Miriam
Dickey, Jennifer
Dudenhoeffer, Larrie
Eanes, Edward
Giddens, Elizabeth
Hedeen, Tim
Hill, Rebecca
Jaramillo, Nathalia
Keltner, Stacy
Kim, Na-Rae
King, David
LeBaron, Alan
Lewis, Catherine
Lieberman, Robbie
McClintock, Diana
McGrew, Mandy
Miller, Cherie
Morgan, Nina
Niemann, Linda
Nystrom, Elsa
Paracka, Daniel
Patton, Randy
Piecuch, Jim
Pynn, Tom
Reeve, Kay
Richards, Anne
Silva, Ernesto
Stewart, Linda
Thomas, Griselda
Thomas, Joe
Way, Albert
Wright, Trey