LeeAnn Lands

Associate Professor of History

Contact Information

Office: Social Sciences (SO 22), Room 4114
Email: llands@kennesaw.edu
Phone: 470-578-3437
Fax: 470-578-9149


LeeAnn Lands is an Associate Professor of History. Her research, writing and other creative work focuses on housing segregation, community-cultural landscapes, and spatial inequality. She has published journal articles on worker housing, segregation campaigns, and homeownership movements, and her book The Culture of Property: Race, Class, and Housing Landscapes in Atlanta, 1880-1950 (Athens: University of Georgia Press, November 2009) examines changing ideas and white expectations about neighborhoods. Since joining KSU in 2001, Dr. Lands has been involved in a number of public projects, often in collaboration with undergraduate researchers. The Summer Hill project, a multi-year project documenting and interpreting the historically black Summer Hill neighborhood in Cartersville, won Georgia Board of Regents' Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Award for departments/programs in 2005-06 (see www.summer-hill.org). In 2006-07, with support from the Georgia Humanities Council, she worked with three undergraduate history majors to produce Taking Place, a series of radio documentaries examining place and community (see www.taking-place.org). Dr. Lands is currently investigating grassroots housing movements in the U.S. South. With support from CETL and the College of HSS, she is working with Emmaus House and the Peoplestown neighborhood in downtown Atlanta to document and interpret the role of community-based organizations in building and sustaining neighborhood life.

Program Members

Aguilar, Rudy
Bradley, Regina
Brown-Spiers, Miriam
Dickey, Jennifer
Dudenhoeffer, Larrie
Dyckhoff, Danelle
Gephardt, Katarina
Grooms, Tony
Hill, Rebecca
Keltner, Stacy
Kim, Na Lae
King, David
Lands, LeeAnn
LeBaron, Alan
Lewis, Catherine
Lieberman, Robbie
McClintock, Diana
McGrew, Mandy
Miller, Cherie
Niemann, Linda
Okie, Tom
Omidvar, Iraj
Piecuch, Jim
Powell, Tammy
Pynn, Tom
Richards, Anne
Silva, Ernesto
Thomas, Griselda
Way, Albert
Whitlock, Ugena
Wright, Trey